Spine Cracking Favourites

Assalamualaikum. Hi!

I have a deep love for books which show signs of having been read over and over again – like creased covers from being jammed between school notes and folders because you so badly wanted to read the book at school; folded pages from where you stopped reading after buying the book only moments before and cracked spines from when you got so immersed in reading that you find yourself opening the book to its fullest. Cause isn’t that the beauty of reading? Getting so into a book that you leave a mark on them as they’ve left a mark on you? (what?).

And so because I have a few spine-cracked (not severely, fyi) favourites, I want to share them here. These are the books I’ve read so many times and have a special place in my heart!

(p.s these books have their old covers cause I’ve had them for a long time now, haha!).

31

The Truth About Forever by Sarah Dessen

I mean, let’s be honest, what’s a favourite book post (written by me) that doesn’t include at least one book from my Sarah Dessen book collection? (Answer: such a post doesn’t exist, haha!).

The Truth About Forever is a heartfelt story with characters that really have stayed with me. Macy and her broken past and broken relationship with her mother, the swoon-worthy Wes and his game of Truths with Macy, Delia’s motherly (and forgetful) nature and Bert’s obsession with the apocalypse, everyone! Sarah Dessen’s characters always come alive and they were all definitely in the liveliest motion (even slow-paced Monica!) here.

If you’ve never read anything by Sarah, The Truth About Forever would be the best place to start.

Ashes by Ilsa J. Bick

My dad picked up this book for me a few years ago. “Something a little different,” he said. I’m guilty of going for bestsellers and contemporary books, so yes – horror, science fiction, survival and post-apocalyptic settings and genres were definitely foreign to me. Ashes is that (foreign, something I wouldn’t pick up myself). It is also a book I’ve re-read many times afterwards! *ding ding, jackpot!*

I don’t know what it is about the book that made me read it again and again considering the fact that I always got to have a dictionary with me to get past a paragraph most of the time (and failed to understand most of the time too, oops?). But if you ask me what book I think would be a hit if it were adapted to the big screen, Ashes would be it. It just has that extra special factor that pulls you in – the dark setting, the strong characters, the thrill and suspense.

Awesome read that stands out from my other books, hehe!

Lock and Key by Sarah Dessen

Yes! Another Sarah Dessen book!

The main protagonist, Ruby, was abandoned by her mother and has no choice but to live with her estranged sister, Cora and her welcoming husband, James. To be honest with you, I feel like Cora and James are two of the best and most beautifully written Sarah Dessen characters. Scratch that – they’re two of the best and most beautifully written fictional characters in general! I can remember them so vividly, as if they’re real people walking on this earth right now. haha! The book definitely has a really interesting set of characters with so much more to them than what meets the eye.

It has so much emotional depth – and I actually love that I get emotional when I read it. I always get so immersed into the story and involved with the characters, that it leaves me feeling as if I had experienced what they experienced myself.

Have you ever felt that way about a book? Cause that’s how I feel with this one – every single time.

And so there you have it! My spine-cracking favourite and go-to reads!

Do you like cracked spines or folded pages on your books? And what are some of your favourite re-reads?

Much love, Iween. xo. ♡

4 thoughts on “Spine Cracking Favourites

  1. Wa’alaikumsalam, Iween! hahahha lol I can relate to reading where every words need reference in the dictionary! I remember lock and key, but I was “young” (ehem) when I read them, so I couldn’t understand the story and get into the characters much (Note that I wasn’t being heartless hahahha, I do cried at some points!)
    lol..and I do have at least one folded page in the books I read! I remember grabbing my school notes to mark the pages as well, when no bookmarks are around! >.<
    I never really tried to read the whole story again, I just browsed through my fav. parts…but there would be the times I HAVE to re-read the whole thing again hahahah!

    Like

    1. Hahaha yeah till now there are a lot of books that I need to have a dictionary close by to finish reading through!

      Yes, I remember you saying you skip a lot of the ending because you were scared of what would happen, haha! Gotta give it a go next time okay ;)

      Like

  2. waalaikumussalam Iween! hehe great to see you update your blog despite you probably busy settling down.
    Anyway, this post is bringing me back to when I read The Truth About Forever!
    I really love that book (you lent me back then and I bought one for myself after that ) and hehe probably wanna go and read it back sometimes soon.

    Much Love!

    Like

Leave a Comment

