I’ve Been Bookstrucked

Assalamualaikum.

BOOKSTRUCKED

(BOOK•STRUCKED), NOUN
finding yourself in a bookstore carrying five books in one hand and reading the summary of another book with the other – all the while not being able to take your eyes off of the bookshelves towering before you; browsing online for (more) books when an order of books you made a while ago are on the way and there are still books waiting to be read on your shelves; having an unhealthy obsession for books.

And when August swooped in, the solace I found in reading a book and the love for books that had been buried and stowed away for a while was rekindled. Soon enough, I found myself to be completely, hopelessly and utterly bookstrucked.

As for what got me here? A few culprits, to mention.

THRONE OF GLASS SERIES by SARAH J MAAS

The Assassin’s Blade, Throne of Glass, Crown of Midnight, Heir of Fire, Queen of Shadows, Empire of Storms

Throne of Glass series, YA High Fantasy Action | Meet Celaena Sardothien, also known as Adarlan’s Assassin, who is called to the Palace to represent the Crown Prince in a battle to become the King’s Champion. Or at least, that’s how it begins. What starts as a story of a deadly, arrogant assassin fighting for her freedom expands into a world that is so much more. A world where evil and nightmares are made flesh, where faeries and warriors come together, where wars and battles span through countries and across continents, where characters take you on journeys – journeys through the world’s borders, as well as journeys within themselves.| The Throne of Glass series is one with an amazing world-building, a set of unforgettable characters, meaningful character development, a storyline full of political intrigue and thrilling scenes, and a beautiful writing to top it all off. By the second book, I was hooked and I fell in love. It’s one of my favourite series now and I can’t wait for the last book to come out (while simultaneously dreading that day to come because I don’t want it to end just yet).

THIS SAVAGE SONG. A MONSTER CALLS. HEARTLESS.

BY V.E. SCHWAB, PATRICK NESS, MARISSA MEYER

This Savage Song, YA Fantasy Dystopia Paranormal | Violence breeds monsters – real life monsters: those that feed on flesh and bone, those that feed on blood, those that feed on souls. And in a dark world overtaken by violence – by monsters – there are two sides: one that fights monsters and one that controls them. And there are two teenagers, Kate Harker, the girl fighting for approval from the father who rules; and August Flynn, the monster wanting nothing more than to be human.| This Savage Song is has beautiful,poetic writing (which drew me in immediately), characters that steal your heart, and a story that will have you on your toes. I’m still reeling over the effects left over from that writing (the kind of writing I love love love and envy so much like HOW) and the exploration of that ‘grey’ area between white and black, good and evil; and everything about this book has really made it one of my favourite reads so far. Phenomenal.

A Monster Calls, YA Fantasy Contemporary Horror | Conor O’Malley has been having nightmares – one in real life where his mother is sick and going through treatment after treatment, and one in his sleep where he’s helpless and doomed, where a monster awaits. But the monster that visits him one night, is not that monster. This monster is entirely different, and it wants only one thing from Conor: the truth | Patrick Ness does it again. Blows my mind, takes my breath, sheds me into pieces. But I’ve never felt so much pain while reading before. A Monster Calls is a masterpiece that will leave your heart shattered, and it will leave you thinking of it long, long after you’ve reached the last page.

Heartless, YA Fantasy Reimagining/Retelling Romance | Heartless is a reimagining of the ruthless, evil, off with their heads! Queen of Hearts. It tells the story of Catherine – a passionate baker who dreams of opening her own bakery; the daughter of a Marquees who bears the expectations of those around her; and a girl in love. But in a world like the Kingdom of Hearts, where no one looks twice in the face of danger, and where expectations are to be met, fate has deemed that Catherine cannot be all those girls at once | Heartless was spectacular – a world that captivated me from the start, full of lively characters and absolutely full of heart. So in love. (And I might be in the lookout for more Wonderland retellings now).

FURTHERMORE. EVERYTHING EVERYTHING. A COURT OF THORNS AND ROSES SERIES.

BY TAHEREH MAFI, NICOLA YOON, SARAH J MAAS.

Furthermore, Childrens Adventure Fantasy | Furthermore follows the story of Alice, who lives in a world bursting with magic and colour. But amidst all of it, she is the only one who is colourless. And to be so in such a world, there is only one person who truly loves and accepts her – father, who disappeared three years ago. Alice is determined to find him – but first, she must travel to Furthermore, a land that is filled with dangers unknown, troubles at every corner, and mayhem in magic | Furthermore blew me away! It has been a while since I’ve had so much fun reading. And with a quirky, creative world like Furthermore, and adventures galore, Furthermore was so enjoyable. I also especially loved the style of writing that really vividly described the world, and broke the fourth wall where the narrator is speaking personally to the reader. Very refreshing. I will be more than happy to step back into this world again soon.

Everything Everything, YA Contemporary Romance | Madeline has lived her life at home for seventeen years. Her disease makes her incapable of being outside, and so she has never left. Her story follows how, when a family decides to move in next door, Madeline’s life and all she has known about it changes. | I went into this book with caution because of the synopsis. And I went out, surprisingly, with a heart that continues to yearn to read more of the beautiful writing, and a mind that constantly thinks back to the read that I finished in two sittings. Everything Everything is heartwarming. The format of the book really crafted it into the masterpiece that it is – with illustrations, funny diary entries, texts, and more. I didn’t expect to love it the way I do. But, well, I love it.

A Court of Thorns and Roses series, New Adult Fantasy Retelling/Reimagining Romance | A Court of Thorns and Roses is a retelling of Beauty and the Beast – that begins with a hunter named Feyre, who kills a wolf in the woods. Demanding retribution is the lethal, deadly Fae, Tamlin, who takes Feyre into the dangerous land of immortals and blooming magic, where a secret and a curse hangs in the air and looms over the land – one that Feyre must stop. |  I want to point out once again that this series is a New Adult series. I’ve said it. Consider yourself warned. With that out of the way, let me get into what made me love this series. One: Sarah J Maas. Two: Beauty and the Beast retelling – that alone made me want to read this more than anything. Three: Sarah J Maas. Sarah has a way with words that makes them flow so naturally and really engages you. The world of ACOTAR is magical, captivating and mysterious. With ACOTAR, I found myself loving it because I’m such a sucker for the romance – the romance that starts from hatred and grows into a loving relationship. Except that that is only half of what happens. The first half of ACOTAR is romance and the other half is action – action that makes you worry about the characters, action that makes your heart run faster, action that makes you rush to get from one page to another. And that continues in ACOMAF – with the addition of extreme character development (that I really loved the best about), more world exploration, and more uncovering of the High Fantasy element that is dotted with politics and mysteries and thrills. To say it’s exciting just does not cover it.

While I’ve finished talking of the culprits behind why I’m so bookstrucked, I also want to mention some other books I’ve read this year – Vassa in the Night by Sarah Porter (which is about magic that is based on Russian folklore; it’s a story that I’ve yet to have read before and is extremely weird, but if you’re a fan of darker reads, why not give this a go!), P.S. I Like You by Kasie West (YA contemporary that started off my bookstrucked journey; it’s a cute, quick read and gives me happy vibes), Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell (I gave Rainbow Rowell’s work another read! I had some problem with this but it was pretty enjoyable nonetheless) & Cinder by Marissa Meyer (book one of the well-loved Lunar Chronicles series, which is a sci-fi retelling of Cinderella. I didn’t end up loving this but it has a good concept and is so, so loved that I’m tempted to read the other books in the series to find out why, haha!).

And, and – I’M STARTING HARRY POTTER. I’ve read only a few of the books before (book one, book three, and Deathly Hallows in anticipation of the movie back in O’level) but I’ve now bought the whole series (the one with the Hogwarts design, a.k.a DREAMS) and I’ve started reading two. It’s hard for me, to be honest, because I’m so familiar with the movies and it’s hard to read what I ‘know’, but I’m still enjoying it and I can’t wait to get to book four and beyond (because that’s where all the ‘best’ times are at).

And there goes my fifth post of the seven part series I’m doing on Wendystrucked. I know this is going up quite late – I wasn’t happy with what I had written before this. There is so much pressure with talking about books – because I get scared that I’m not saying enough to bring a book justice somehow, and I obviously don’t want people to shy away from amazing books, you know? So while this post may be sooo long and is very unlike many more recent posts of Wendystrucked, I’ve decided to be easy on myself this once, and post up something that I’m happy with, however imperfect.

See you on the next one In sha Allah! With love, Iween.

5 thoughts on “I’ve Been Bookstrucked

  1. Wa’alaikumsalam wrb. I’mma hurry and pick up those books you’ve recommended. Seems like a good start to get my reading gears going again :D And yes, you brought justice to those books. This post is so YOU and I can hear your “iski” voice as I read this (p/s.. I HAVE BEEN READING this post with your voice in my mind, though lol)

    Like

  2. Waalaikumussalam,
    this post made me realised I MISS OUT SO MUCHH.
    I miss reading and yes, I want to go back to that world of solace and peace.
    No matter how hard I tried, I get anxious reading and its unexplainable really. I still buy books though every time I check out the book stores prolly cause I am hoping (really am) to go back to it one day and perhaps some books on the bookstore’s shelves might help me get back on it.
    I bought Throne of Glass a while back cause I heard its a pretty good series. But I have yet to read them :(
    Maybe one of the days this year I might want to push myself into reading (in a good way/ if you have any tips for this0, breaking this barrier built out of nowhere and let everything else flow naturally like it used to.
    And maybe, InsyaAllah if I get back to my bookwarm state I would definitely check out these lists of books you put down :)

    -AniYuuki

    Like

    • Aww. I also missed out a lot on the first half of the year. But I guess when you try to read something light and quick, it makes everything else fall into place and gets you back into that book-loving state (not always, of course, but worth a try). We’re all changing as well so maybe it’s a different kind of book that you’re looking for :) I do recommend Everything Everything because it’s such a quick read and it really is so, so good. Throne of Glass is quite on the heavy side, but I do have a special place in my heart exactly for that reason :)

      Like

Leave a Comment

