Dear 2016, Here’s to Us

Assalamualaikum.


Of eye-opening firsts and heart-wrenching lasts, overflowing happiness and overwhelming pain – to say that 2016 was bittersweet is to play it so completely and utterly safe.

So forget it. Just forget it all. I refuse, absolutely refuse, to look back and recount what a year 2016 has been. I’d rather turn back, take a different road altogether, and just look at myself and what a person I’ve been in the last 365 days.

Because the memories don’t make us who we are. We make the memories who we are. We make the memories what we want them to be. And make of the memories what we choose. They matter, they do. But they’re just a small part of what matters the most – us.

So, 2016.

Here’s to Us.

Here’s to the us that greeted the start of the year with lists and goals to ease our dazzled, confused hearts; relieved to have made it through, grateful to have conquered the past. Here’s to the us that shouldered years of heartache etched into our very beings and still – still! – managed to lift our heads up and find ourselves smiling at the promise of fresh starts and new beginnings. Here’s to the us that made it through hard times thinking we were never going to be at this end of the road, but then there we were, rising to a stand after kneeling so long on the ground.

Here’s to the us that found happiness in simple things, and laughter that came across as a surprise when we needed them the most. Here’s to the us that challenged ourselves, wondered why we bothered putting ourselves to such struggles, before seeing it through and learning lessons we wouldn’t have learnt otherwise. Here’s to the us that broke down, fell apart, drowned in tears, wrecked our hearts in search of better tomorrows – tomorrows that came in with familiar faces, wide-eyed smiles, wholehearted laughter and unprecedented moments.

Here’s to the us that we’ve become; to the us that continues to change and grow; to the the us that looks at how far we’ve come and how far we’ll continue to go.

So 2017?

Here’s to more of us.

May Allah bless our journeys and may we become a better us in His cause. In sha Allah. Amiin. Happy 2017!


And that concludes the seven part series I’ve been doing on Wendystrucked. Thank you for reading and I hope you found it to be just as fun as I did while creating these posts. It was hard and I didn’t do it for seven days straight the way I planned to, but I put up some of my favourite posts on the blog so far with this series, and that’s more than enough. With that said, it’ll be a while until I get myself back up to post again. Till then!

With love, Iween.

10 thoughts on “Dear 2016, Here’s to Us

  1. Happy new year! I love the first few weeks of January just to read what other people have to say for the past year. 2016 is just a roller coaster of highs but mostly lows for the world, so it’s nice to see you focus more on the positive – but I don’t quite agree to forgetting it. There’s something about staring at a problem dead on until you’ve learn what you could so it won’t happen again. Here’s to hoping that 2017 will take on a different path than last year!

    xo, Richel V. | Richel Goes Places

    Like

    1. Yes, I love reading other people’s blogs on the new year, too!

      And yes, to forget everything would make me feel like I’ve lost a year of my life or let everything become wasted – so I won’t forget everything in the literal sense, but I rather like to look back at things and see the positives from them – the lessons learnt rather than the actual moments :)

      Happy 2017! And thank you for stopping by!

      Like

  2. I think that this is such a lovely way to remember and move on from 2016, Iween. 2016 definitely hasn’t been the greatest for a lot of us, but I love that you wrote about accepting it and learning from it.

    I don’t know whether I agree with your sentiment of memories not making a person, because I do believe that what we experience and how we deal with experiences bring us to where we are today. It’s true that our memories do not define us, but they make up an important part of ourselves — our past. And while the past isn’t exactly always wonderful to look back on, I’ve learnt to be grateful and thankful for my past.

    Anyway, this is the first post I’ve read from you, and I really enjoyed reading your post, Iween! Do you have a bloglovin’ I can follow you on? I’d love to be kept updated!

    MAY | http://WWW.THEMAYDEN.COM

    Like

    1. Thank you! It means a lot to have someone whose blog I’ve grown to love reading from to come by and read something I wrote.
      And thank you for sharing your input on it, as well. I do believe that memories make up a huge part of our lives – although I have learned that the way we look at memories are always changing and that our changing perspectives really define who we are at any moment of our lives – but that’s true, the past is always going to leave a mark on all of us and on who we are.
      I actually haven’t gotten a bloglovin that is updated cause I haven’t found out how to work it quite yet (ah!). But now that you mention it, I might just try it again. Thank you again for reading :)

      Like

  3. Wa’alaikumsalam. Warmest hugs and kisses from me to you, my dear. <3 Well done with the challenge. It was awesome, I just finished reading them all and I anticipated for more. Well done for staying strong throughout the year, Iween. Here's to you, who managed to put up with all the struggles, perhaps it's something only Allah knows. Indeed, we can make 2017 a better year…InsyaAllah, put our trust in Him…and it will be. :)
    -Me.

    Like

    1. Warmest hugs and kisses back! <3
      Thank you so much. And thank you for being one of the constants in my life that helped give me the strength I needed. Here's to all of us!
      In sha Allah. Amiin Ya Rabb <3

      Like

  4. Waalaikumussalam,
    Amiin Ya Rabb ;)
    Such a great post to end the 7 days post a week challenge heheh.
    And yes, of course it had been fun catching up what you wrote ;)
    Cant wait for more from you.

    -Ani

    Like

Leave a Comment

