food, meetings & other things of pleasure | january snippets

Assalamualaikum.

NEW CHAPTER

When 2017 rolled in, the first day just felt like another day. It took me a few weeks to realize, but it soon hit me how January 2017 was a new chapter unfolding. Some things were put into action, others were halted. Some opportunities arrived and were taken, others were not. And while good things had come, other good things went by.

But through it all and against the odds, there is one thing that I know for sure – January was a month filled with a lot of pleasurable moments.

FOOD, FOOD AND FOOD

CRISPY CHICKEN, BIBIMBAP AND ICE CREAM MADE THE LIST

January saw a lot of restaurant-hopping for my family; we went for snacks, sweets, suppers – of the like. And though I am horrible at trying new things (most especially when it comes to food), I welcomed the adventure, if only to get a chance to see some new places and please some cravings.

And so new places were seen, and cravings were pleased. Food brought a lot of pleasure this month, indeed. 

A MONSTER CALLS

I talked a bit about how I felt about the book, A Monster Calls by Patrick Ness before. It is one of my favourite reads of all time – as well as the most meaningful, the most heartbreaking and the most memorable. As I walked into the theater to see this book come to life in its movie adaptation, I had off the roof expectations for it – and those expectations were met. I absolutely loved the movie. It really blew me away – from the setting to the artistry to the performance and the story’s execution; I fell head over heels for A Monster Calls and I cannot wait to get the movie on DVD (I HAVE TO).

MEETINGS, REUNIONS, EVENTS AND CELEBRATIONS

DAY OF CHESS TOURNAMENT @ TIMES SQUARE SPONSORED BY MQ TUITION
PHOTO CREDIT (CENTER) TO B WAN, (RIGHT) TO KA MAERI

I had the pleasure of meeting some new people this month – new faces to match up with familiar names, and voices with stories to place on descriptions known. I also got to reunite with some of my favourite people to make up for weeks without meeting, and times spent apart. There were some big and small events, too – big, to celebrate a union of two families, and small ones celebrated over dinner and cake, new age in tow.

And while I am a homebody pretty much all the way, these events and celebrations added a bit extra to my month and filled up the gaps left by days spent alone.

OTHER THINGS OF PLEASURE

Reading was of course, another pleasure factor (one that I might discuss in another post In sha Allah), as well as writing – which I’ve picked up again and decided to be more focused on this year, In sha Allah.

The little things and the big ones this month, made January 2017 a good one. And I’m looking forward for more. Till the next one!

How was your January 2017?

photo-2-2-17-7-07-43-pm

2 thoughts on “food, meetings & other things of pleasure | january snippets

  1. Waalaikumussalam~
    Restaurant-hopping? Man that is so much fun!
    Have I ever tell you that I love the layout of this site and especially the way there’s always a photo-title at the beginning of every posts? I really do!
    Glad that you’re having fun and hopefully more to come <3
    -Ani

    Like

    • haha, yes, it was pretty fun to go around and see you new places!
      Aww, thank you! I’ve only just started adding photos with the post titles and I’m happy doing it! :)

      Like

Leave a Comment

